Welcome to the Manhattan North District Council of Presidents website.

We are Public Housing Leaders representing the largest public housing authority (PHA) in North America, NYCHA. More than 400,000 New Yorkers reside in NYCHA’s 328 public housing developments across the City’s five boroughs. Another 235,000 receive subsidized rental assistance in private homes through the NYCHA-administered Section 8 Leased Housing Program.

Our role as resident council leaders is to improve the quality of life and resident satisfaction, participate in self-help initiatives that enable residents to create a positive living environment for their families living in public housing. We actively participate with NYCHA to advise and assist in all aspects of public housing operations.

 Please see the “Message from our Chairperson” section for important COVID-19 information and updates.

Executive Board

Chairperson – Ethel Velez
Vice Chairperson – Nathaniel Green
Treasurer – Abigail Javier
Financial Secretary – Bettye Rolle
Corresponding Secretary – Bernadette McNear
Recording Secretary – Carlton Davis
Sergeant-at-Arms – Henry Coaxum


1. 131 Saint Nicholas Ave
2. Audubon
3. Bethune Gardens
4. De Wiitt Clinton
5. Drew Hamilton
6. Dyckman
7. East River
8. Ft. Washington Rehab
9. Grant
10. Harlem River
11. Thomas Jefferson / Corsi
12. James Weldon Johnson
13. Martin Luther King Towers
14. Lehman Village
15. Abraham Lincoln
16. Manhattanville
17. Marshall Plaza
18. Metro North Plaza
19. Milbank- Frawley
20. Park Avenue East
21. Polo Grounds
22. P.S. 139 Conversion
23. Phillip Randolph
24. Rangel
25. Jackie Robinson
26. Saint Nicholas
27. Frederick E. Samuel
28. Frederick E. Samuel (MOHP)
29. Senator Robert TAFT
30. TAFT Rehabs
31. UPACA 1980 (site 5)
32. UPACA 1940 (site 6)
33. Robert Wagner
34. Washington Heights Rehab
35. West 164 Street
36. White
37. Woodrow Wilson

Community Communication